Rain, rain, go away! (Wow, I segue a lot)

On rainy days like today, it’s really hard for me to find motivation to do, well… much of anything!  I was up with Squish around 8:30, and didn’t even START waking up for about another 3 hours.  Once I finally got myself doing anything that looked like moving, it was almost 1:00pm!!!  Now, I’m sitting here completely ready to just crawl into bed for the rest of the afternoon and call it a day.

My problem?  I have this overwhelming sense of guilt because I’m not TRYING to accomplish something.  I mean, really… if you could just look at my living space, you’d KNOW that I have PLENTY to do.  So much so, that it’s embarrassing.  Of course, some would tell me that “if you don’t take care of yourself, you can’t take care of anyone else.”  But see, most days I feel like I have a problem of not doing enough, and always being at least just a little big lazy.  So I feel like I’m not doing my share and I’m not entirely justified in wanting to be lazy.

Can you relate to that?  I wonder how many women (and moms especially) have that problem!  I always feel like other moms around me are these freaking superwomen who are doing 8,000 things every day, all with a kid at the boob and a chicken in the oven.  Well, I’ve got the “kid at the boob” part down pretty well, but the rest of it… not so much.

I wonder if I had a carrier I really, really loved, maybe I could get more accomplished.  I have an older model Snugli, but as far as I can tell, Squish only tolerates that thing for about 5-10 minutes and she’d done.  I tried making my own “Moby Wrap” once, but I realized too quickly that the fabric was too thick and too short, so once she really started growing, it was too small.  My budget won’t allow me to buy what I really want – an Ergo or a REAL Moby – so instead, I just end up carrying her around everywhere!  THIS is not helping the low productivity, let me tell ya.

Which brings me to another thought… I’ve been starting to wonder about being a product tester.  I see so many bloggers testing products and hosting giveaways, and I’d LOVE to join the ranks.  I’m kinda curious how one gets into that sort of thing… and I’m thinking it would help if I had a larger reader base.  Ha!!  I’ll get there, right? 😀

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Rain, rain, go away! (Wow, I segue a lot)

  1. My sister-in-law makes Moby wraps for (I think) $30 – cheaper than the real thing. If you’re interested I could get one from her for you. OR find out the exact length and what type of fabric works best. 🙂

    Also, I think that honestly, the first year of having a child is extremely exhausting and any rest you need during the day is totally justified and is NOT laziness. Of course, this comes from being a person who has been forced to pretty much sit on my butt for a few years while I got my health back, and in the process let go of a lot of myths we women carry around about “productivity” and “laziness” and “worth” and “value” and “accomplishment.”

    Frankly, if all you accomplish today is nursing your baby girl and loving on her and playing with her, that’s a good day in my book.

    • The original Moby is $40-50 anyway, so I’m not sure the discount is worth it to me, but it’s pretty cool to know she makes them! Thanks for the encouragement about being to tempted to fill society’s standards. It just gets so hard to tell the difference sometimes, between being lazy and actually needing to have an easy day. And what even defines productive for ME!

Leave a Reply

