A Week Off!

Right now, I’m supposed to be at the beach.  Instead, I’m sitting in the living room, almost in the dark, watching Julie and Julia on Starz, while my child is upstairs napping and recovering from her daily case of “zombie face.”  Yes, I own the movie, but Bridezillas was getting a bit exhausting, and it was on.  So there it is.

So why am I not at the beach?  Simple answer is that my anxiety got the better of me and it was more than I could handle to get myself organized, packed, juggle a half-potty-trained toddler (who I’m sure will stay that way until she’s 25) for 8 hours in the car, and try to figure out how to do the work I need to accomplish and have a good time for a week.  BLEH!

Honestly, I wish I were at the beach.  I miss the sand in my toes and the smell of the breeze coming in off the water.  It’s as close to heaven on earth as I might ever come, and it’s been about 4 years since I’ve been.  I’m tempted to make my hubby drive us down to VaBeach on one of his days off this week, just so I can see the water this week.  The last 2 weeks, and even this whole past month have just been too much for me to put one more thing on my plate.  As much as I desperately miss my second home by the shore, I know I need this time.  I NEED the week off.

I want to see what God will do with me this week.  It took a lot of prayer and even a little extra anxiety and guilt thrown in before I was able to REALLY make the choice to stay home, but I know it’s what I needed to do.  Maybe I’ll write some note cards, maybe I’ll work on some music, maybe I’ll just do the minimum it takes to be a productive member of society and just veg out every other second of my conscious existence.  I’m not sure.  I know I’ll be doing some reading, and I know I’m looking forward to being more refreshed by the end of it.

What are you doing this week?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

