MORE Adventures in Hippy Land

So I’ve mentioned it a couple times on Facebook and Twitter, but over the past few weeks, I’ve undertaken a new project, and in some ways, it’s kind of like I have another child.  I am growing and culturing my own Tibetan Kefir!  For anyone completely unfamiliar with Kefir, I found a nice and simple online article which should give you pretty much any info you could need.  Enjoy!

After skimming the above article myself, I realize I have done one error, in pressing and squeezing my grains.  Won’t be doing THAT again!

Before culturing your own Kefir, you might be interested to know that it contains around 35 different live probiotics!  These little bugs do amazing things for your digestive system and overall immunity.  That makes Kefir one heck of a superfood!  Also, believe it or not, Tibetan Kefir has been documented as having cured or vastly improved 107 different ailments, including GERD, diabetes, anxiety, skin breakouts, and some cancers!  Amazing, right?  If you could add one thing to your diet and know that it could vastly improve your health, why wouldn’t you??  And here’s something really fun, because the Kefir grains feed on the lactose and other sugars in milk, it’s 99% lactose free and generally tends to still be ok for those who are lactose intolerant!  But don’t worry, you don’t HAVE to use milk.  It’s just the idea option.  You can also culture soy milk, almond or coconut milk, some even culture it in WATER!

Here’s what you’re going to want to know, though.  This stuff is SUPER SOUR!!!!!  It’s like unsweetened yogurt but 100x more sour.  And it also has a tangy zip on top of that.  I’ve met some brave souls who drink this stuff straight, but I just can’t do it.  My sweetener of choice is honey.  LOTS of honey.  You can also blend it with fruit into a smoothie, make it into pancakes and other yummy things (although heat does kill off a lot of the probiotics that make it so good for you).  Just get creative!

You can find and purchase Kefir grains online in different places, but the BEST way to get them is from a friend who is already growing his or her own colony.  Like me!  Ready to get started?  

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “MORE Adventures in Hippy Land

  1. D. Morgan

    kefir pancakes sound good!

Leave a Reply

